jump to navigation

‘Thriller’ from Cebu: Pinoy inmates get 1.1M YouTube views July 26, 2007

Posted by Anton in News Lite, Watch This.
trackback

algorithm-prisonersBy Gerry Plaza
INQUIRER.net
Last updated 11:13pm (Mla time) 07/25/2007
MANILA, Philippines — Where’s the connection between Michael Jackson and inmates from the Cebu Provincial Detention and Rehabilitation Center?View it on YouTube.Millions of people around the world had already viewed a video uploaded on the popular web site that showed more than a thousand Cebu inmates performing the famous zombie dance from the 1984 music video of Jackson’s monster hit “Thriller”.As of 10:44 p.m. Manila time Wednesday, the video has been viewed 1,152,025 times.Their well-coordinated yet rip-roaring routine, apparently part of a recent program from within the prison facility, had landed on popular US entertainment television shows, including newscasts from E! Television on Wednesday.The video was uploaded by Byron Garcia, security consultant of the Cebu Provincial Government and brother of Cebu governor Gwendolyn Garcia.It can be viewed using this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMnk7lh9M3oThe Cebu inmates had also performed several other numbers similarly accessible on YouTube. These include their rendition of Queen’s 1984 hit “Radio Ga-ga” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAVVVMcTShQ&NR=1) and “I Will Follow Him” from the 1992 movie “Sister Act,” and a Muslim song “Dayang Dayang” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fptZ3FY-AwY&mode=related&search=) . A recent upload is their version of the “Algorithm March” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjMd2Vabcv8) from the popular Japanese educational program “PythagoraSwitch”

Comments»

1. COGAR - July 22, 2014

You truly make it search quite simple with your display on the other hand discover this specific matter being truly a thing that I think I may under no circumstances fully grasp. This indicates also elaborate and extremely vast personally. I will be looking forward as part of your up coming create, I’m going to attempt to find the embrace than me!

2. cigarette electronique jetable montreal - August 24, 2014

Hi I am so glad I found your webpage, I really found you by accident,
while I was searching on Google for something else, Nonetheless I am
here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all
round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
time to browse it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added
in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please
do keep up the fantastic job.

3. fournisseur cigarette electronique montreal - September 10, 2014

Hey there! I know this is kind of off-topic but I
needed to ask. Does operating a well-established website like yours require a massive amount work?
I’m brand new to running a blog however I do write in my journal every day.
I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and views online.
Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.

Thankyou!


Leave a Reply

